Millennial Catholic Problems: Ash Wednesday

Yes it is here! Quick! Is there anything else I can give up apart from chocolate that won’t kill me slowly, like coffee??

I went to Mass at 7am and got ashed and then walked to work and had all of the double takes, looks and gestures which inspired me to write this list. This is just a starting point so feel free to tell me what other problems you’ve had on Ash Wednesday.

1. The Ash Wednesday is Early Morning Panic…

200.gif

CRAP, LENT STARTS TODAY? WHEN’S MASS? WHERE IS MASS? WHAT AM I GOING TO GIVE UP? WHO AM I?

*Immediately creates a long list of impossible of penances to do that can only be achieved by an hermitted monk*

2. To take a selfie or not to take a selfie…

Given that the Gospel reading today admonishes us to “not pull faces to let people know you are fasting…” Crap… so does that mean I’m not allowed to take a selfie and post it to social media with #ashtag? Is that the 21st century version of spiritual pride? *A wild Scruples attacks!*

giphy.gif

He clearly doesn’t have Lenten Scruples…

3. *Person tries to discreetly point at your forehead*

belleannoyed.gif

Don’t you know what day it is?

Yes, I know I have something on my forehead… No, it was put there intentionally because it’s Ash Wednesday. Which can then lead to the next problem…

4. “Here, let me get that dirt off your forehead…”

 

TToy25p

*NOT RECCOMENED REACTION

NO TOUCHIE THE ASH!

And finally….

5. Forgetting your Ash is there and wiping your forehead

han solo

Now how are people supposed to know I’m not a heathen/bad Catholic? Oh wait… never mind… *fights off more scruples*

So they’re all my #millennialcatholicproblems but along with all these, you do see people knowingly smile at you and hey, all of these encounters are a great conversation starter and a reminder to be gentle and merciful with yourself (and those people trying to be helpful) this season!

**Feature Image Credit: By Oxh973 (Own work by Jennifer Balaska) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Compliments welcome, but I'll settle for criticism...

