On Making the ‘Worst Form of Family Planning’ a little more bearable

A couple of months ago, I wrote this post. To my surprise, it got a fair few hits for this humble little blog of which 10 views is a good day. I can’t tell if it was the content or timing, so I’ve decided to follow up the post with a little bit of good news for Sympto-Thermal FAM users.

I’ve been trialing Kindara’s latest product WINK. My mother pre-ordered 14 months ago and after more than a couple of development delays, it arrived in August. The delays were well worth the wait. WINK is a digital thermometer that links via bluetooth to the Kindara App. I’ve been using Kindara for three years and it’s probably the best FAM app on the market.

After giving it a couple of cycles, and time for the novelty to wear off… I can still happily conclude that WINK has definitely made life easier for this Symto-Thermal user. I’m able to keep my phone away from my bed which means I’m not going to get lost into Facebook for an hour before and after sleeping (I’m terribly undisciplined when it comes to that) and it takes less that 10 seconds to get an equally accurate reading as my old thermometer.

Did I mention it takes less than 10 seconds? Also the bluetooth connection is an awesome feature. If you’ve been using Kindara and wondering whether you should shell out US$99 for a fancy digital thermometer, it’s worth the money.

If you’re a parent getting up in the middle of the night, getting your basal body temperature can be a pain in the butt because it takes at least four hours of sleep for your body to settle. When your kid is crying in the middle of the night, the last thing you want is to wait for an agonising sixty seconds for a regular thermometer and then hope you blearily remember the reading in your sleep deprived state. WINK is a massive improvement. (I have no idea if this is actually a thing, when my time comes, I’ll let you know, or let me know in the comments!)

If you’re a lazy millennial like me used to instant-everything, WINK is a massive improvement.

If you like neat gadgets that could actually make women’s lives easier, WINK is a great example.

It charges on a micro USB cable (that comes with it) and I gave it a full charge when I opened it. I haven’t needed to recharge it since and it’s been six weeks.

I’m still forgetful and I scroll facebook in the mornings and panic when it’s 30 minutes past the time I needed to be somewhere, but the fact that this makes it so painless to get my basal body temperature has made a big difference to my temperature recording even after the novelty has worn off.

Massive props to Kindara! What started out as a really good fertility tracking app has evolved into a suite of excellent resources and products for women who are sick of being on hormonal contraceptives or want to get started with Fertility Awareness Methods. It’s made my life easier and it might make yours easier too.

*P.S. Alas, this is not a sponsored post, just a helpful Public Service Announcement to tell you about an awesome group of women looking out for other women and trying to make their fertile lives a little easier.*

One thought on “On Making the ‘Worst Form of Family Planning’ a little more bearable

Compliments welcome, but I'll settle for criticism...

